2008 Season
Offical Newsletter
Pensacola Hawg Hunters

Volume: 11
Issue: 7

Angler Of The Year
Mack Cramer


Minutes of the Meeting:

The May Pensacola Hawg Hunters meeting was brought to order at
7 P.M. on May 21, 2008 at
Founaris Brothers Restaurant.
President John Buck presided.
There were 15 members and
2 guest present,

Members Of The Board:

John Buck

Vice President/Treasure

Jere Jaillite


Marc Churchwell

Tournament Director

Dave Dyess

Asst. Tournament Director
Jim Bailey Sr

Old Buisness:

Danny Lopez was voted into the club unanimous.

New Buisness:

Mack Cramer gave a brief report on his trip to Mexico and is setting up for his next trip next year if anyone is interested in going to Mexico with him.

Jim Bailey Sr. reported he has had more than 50 gallons of gas stolen out of his boat and talked to Ranger about locking gas caps but they don't make them. However he did locate a device made by Perko Inc., http://www.perko.com/fuelfill.php
that is an insert for locking fuel fills.

John Buck discussed ideas for the end of year banquet; next meeting would like proposals to discuss including information about the places - cost, banquet menu, deposit required, private room., etc…plan to have a location and plans completed by August/September time frame.
First week in December is proposed time frame for banquet- not necessarily on a Saturday but Friday as well.

August tournament is a 90 mile trip to Holly Creek for a short 1 day tournament. Idea for changing site to a closer location because of fuel costs. Also discussion regarding additional entry fees to help cover expenses for lone boater (1/2 paid by club).

Discussion about non boater's responsibility to split ½ gas for pre-fish day regardless if he is able to go or not - nothing in the constitution or tournament rules requiring this.

Dave Dyess discussed the number of fish in the live well. Sixth fish can only be in well long enough to cull the smallest fish before resuming fishing. Arriving at the landing with 6 fish in the live well even if accidentally - member is disqualified. In a 2 day tournament DQ only applies to the specific day of the infraction not both days.


May Tournament:

The Hawg Hunters fished Miller's Ferry for our May tournament on the lower part of the lake out of Miller's Ferry Marina. The weather was warm with cloudy skies and the water temp was 75. At the weigh in everyone had fish, and most had caught a lot of fish throughout the day. Dave and Frank reported catching over 50 fish and seven limits were brought in.
Dewayne Kimbrough brought in a 2.85 lb bass for the lunker honors.

4th Place
Frank Kelly

4th place went to Frank Kelly who had a limit @ 7.04 lbs.

3rd Place
Jeff Weaver

Jeff Weaver had a limit to take 3rd place @ 7.25 lbs.

2 nd Place
Mack Cramer

Mack Cramer was 2nd with 5 fish @ 7.60 lbs.

1st Place
John Buck

John Buck was 1st with 5 fish @ 8.76 lbs. with most of the fish were caught on worms. Our next tournament will be on the Tensaw River out of Upper Bryants.
It will be the first "short day" 2:00P.M. tournament of the season.
It is important to keep your live wells running constantly to save the fish you do catch and don't forget to drink plenty of fluids yourself, and be wise in dealing with the heat.

Tournament Standings:

Miller's Ferry
Millers Ferry Marina

1st John Buck - 5 fish - 8.76 lbs
2nd Mack Cramer - 5 fish - 7.60 lbs
3rd Jeff Weaver - 5 fish - 7.25 lbs
4th Frank Kelly - 5 fish - 7.04 lbs
5th Lee Brannon - 5 fish - 6.49 lbs
6th Bill Myrick - 4 fish - 6.09 lbs
7th Don Jahnky - 5 fish - 5.57 lbs
8th Dave Dyess - 5 fish - 5.18 lbs
9th Ken Repine - 4 fish - 4.84 lbs
10th Dewayne Kembro - 2 fish - 4.25 lbs

Big Fish
Dewayne Kembro - 2.85 lbs

For The Record:

Miller's Ferry
Millers Ferry Marina

Total Fish Caught 45
Total Dead Fish 9
Total Fish Weight 63.07 lbs
Total Limits 7
Tournament Big Fish 2.85 lbs
(Dewayne Kembro)

For the Year:

Total Fish Caught 339
Total Dead Fish 12
Total Fish Weight 536.97
Total Limits 39
Tournament Big Fish 4.16 lbs
(Bob Hanson)

Members Eligible 2008 Fish Off:
As Of: 5/24/08
Lee Brannon - John Buck
Mack Cramer - Jere Jaillite
Frank Kelly - Jeff Weaver
Jim Bailey Sr. - Kevin Simmons
Dave Dyess

Members Eligible To Vote
2009 Constitution:

As Of: 5/24/08
Lee Brannon - John Buck
Jere Jaillite - Frank Kelly
Jeff Weaver - Mack Cramer
Dave Dyess

June Meeting:

Location: Fournaris Bros.
June 18, 2008
Time: 7 pm

June Tournament:

June 21, 2008

Tournament Site:

Tensaw River
Upper Bryant's Landing

Lower Bryant Landing

Low Tide - 4:43 am
High Tide - 5:02 pm

From The Daily Planner:

Full Moon: June 18th

Sunrise: 5:47 am
Sunset: 7:53 pm

Slammer Award:


Ken Repine
"The Notel Motel Tail Light Thang"

Any questions should be addressed to Marc Churchwell
or Jim Bailey Sr.